Not Guys, but God

Yes, I know, I haven’t blogged in forever! I feel awful about it:(. My computer  had a virus and having to blog with it was a hassle. However, my computer is fixed and now I have no excuse not to blog. I wanted to write about something that has been on my mind for quite a while. I see it everyday, almost everywhere I go. I just can’t take it anymore! Why are girls and women viewed as objects? It seems to me that if you don’t look like Barbie”, you don’t count. At such a young age, girls acquire a fake and unnatural view of how they should look. “Barbie” dolls aren’t reality. Of course when you’re a 6 year old little girl playing with her doll that has perfect, straight, blonde hair, a tiny waist, and dresses like a supermodel, how would you be able to know that it’s wrong? But as you grow up, you start to buy into the whole “perfect” look. And, of course, nobody is perfect. As a result of not being “perfect”, many young, teenage girls become depressed and feel worthless. This is NOT how a girl should ever feel. Feeling worthless is pointless because NO ONE is worthless in God’s eyes, which are the only eyes that matter. But how can we stop so many girls from feeling this way? Who can blame them? Every billboard, commercial, and movie portrays women in such a way that we’re only worth what we look like. Even news channels! It’s incredible how almost every female reporter has globs of makeup on and wears dresses that are as tight as my socks. Oh, but never the male reporters. They have on nice suits and expensive ties. If we are to view men and women equally, then why don’t all guys walk around without a shirt? But oh no, that would be indecent and “unprofessional”. Well, how about a girl that practically uses a shirt as a dress, that’s super low-cut? Isn’t that unprofessional? It’s more than unprofessional, it’s wrong. I can’t wrap my mind around it! I feel that I can’t find any shorts that are longer than 2 inches! And, supposedly, wearing a bra and underwear is ok as long as it’s to the beach. The reason why we feel that it is ok is because we have bought into the whole “perfect” look. Every girl is wearing it, so what’s the difference if I do? I’m here to tell you that it’s just plain wrong. Women are much, much, much more important than the body they have. If you have to wear a crop top and teenie tiny shorts to be considered important, then it’s wrong. True beauty has been lost. Girls no longer dress to please God and to please themselves. Of course there’s nothing wrong with wearing a cute top because you think it’s cute. But if  you’re wearing a top that’s too tight or see-through, nobody is going to look at your “cute” outfit. They’re going to look at your body. Why wear a shirt that’s might cause a guy to sin?  We can bring back true beauty, but we must fight for it. We have to say no to some things. Ask yourself, would you wear it in front of Jesus? Remember who you’re dressing for. Not guys, but God. “People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart”–1 Samuel 16:7.

Leave a Reply

