Goodbye summer, hello school year

As I watch the clouds roll by from our big, red rental car, I think about all that lies ahead of me in Miami and what waves goodbye to me from Lynchburg, Virginia. As my eldest brother took a different route to begin his second year of law school, we dropped off my other brother at college for the second time. I am now venturing southbound as an “only child” once again. Tenth grade is going to be an entirely different year for me. Harder, of course, as high school progresses and hopefully, more productive. Other than the stress on academics this year, I plan on growing spiritually more than anything. This summer has been an eye-opener for many things:my friends, future, and joys. I’ve changed a lot this summer, more than I know. I’m finally starting to do more of what I love and less of what I thought I should love. Because of that, I’m excited for my tenth grade year. I plan on spending my time more productively and wisely. I want to do new things. Things I want to do, but never have. Like write a book and actually finish it, or get a long board, or get really, really fit. Ok, so not “or”, I’m going to do them all, hopefully, my tenth grade year. I was pleasantly surprised last week when I found out that I had gotten into the advanced level of my ballet school. I was totally shocked and I was not expecting that at all. I skipped an entire level. With this new opportunity, I’m actually going to start trying in ballet more than I ever have. I’m excited. I’m nervous. I’m anxious. I can’t wait for my tenth grade year. I’m not going to waste my time. I’m not going to be the BIGGEST procrastinator anymore, rather I’m going to make every second count. I’m going to make tenth grade memorable, special, important, and fun. Fun. That’s something you can never get enough of. Ninth grade was a year of changes and I’ll never forget it. Without my ninth grade year, tenth grade wouldn’t be as awesome as it’s going to be.  “You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”–Mae West.

Leave a Reply

