you’re never too young

“We are too young to realize that certain things are impossible, so we will do them anyways.” –William Wilberforce.

I can still remember being 5 years old and saying, “Mommy, can I be 5 forever? I don’t wanna grow up!” Last week I turned 16. Usually, a don’t feel any different when I turn a year older. This year was different, though. My friend pointed out to me that now I’m closer to 20 than 10… that didn’t sit with me very well. I’m starting to realize that everyday that goes by, is one less day of my youth. Literally, I will never be 16 again. I have 4 more years of being young. Once you’re out of high school there’s a lot more pressure and a lot less carefree fun. So I believe that young people should take advantage of these years! Do something amazing! Be extra special, unique, and have extra fun. However, all I see youngins doing these days is texting, instagramming, and crying over a dramatized breakup. I refuse to let this stereotypical teenager be me. From now on, I’m going to take these last few teenage years more seriously. Less about my phone and more about my life and others.

Why can’t teens do something other than just hanging out. I HATE “hanging out”. It’s pretty much saying let’s get together and do NOTHING… Why do teens like doing absolutely nothing? I have no idea… Also, why are they obsessed with being in a relationship?! You have the rest of your life to be with someone, literally, once you’re married that’s it. Why waste the only time you don’t have to be in a relationship, in a relationship? It makes no sense. Just because you’re young doesn’t mean you can’t do something important. The society has placed this unnatural, unspoken law on teens. This law pretty much says you can’t be important; you have to be rebellious, stupid, and unsocial. You have to dress like an idiot, you must makeout with your boyfriend/girlfriend. NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!!!!!!!!!!!! This is sooooo wrong!

TEENS CAN BE SPECIAL AND DO SOMETHING SPECIAL. Next time you’re “hanging out” maybe suggest to your friends to just go outside and take a walk. Breathe the fresh air, run around, have fun. Most importantly, BE YOURSELVES. Don’t settle for the norm. Swim against the current and trust me, you’ll just get stronger. Why can’t you write a book, be an activist, change the world? You can! You’re never too young to make a difference. Forget about the fact that you only got 20 likes on your last selfie! Instead, remember that there’s kids all over the world who’ve never held a phone, or possibly the minor detail that they’ve NEVER had a good meal and don’t have clean water to drink. Please, please, please don’t just be in the world, change the world, for better. One dream can go a long way. Take your dream, chase it, and never give it up. No matter what people tell you, you’re never too young! Never give up on a dream.

“There is nothing like a dream to create the future.”–Victor Hugo

Love always,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

