milk tea book tag

Recently, my fellow blogger and writer nominated me for this book tag. Thanks Gabrielle! (go check out her blog please, it’s incredible) Anyways, I don’t know much about book tags… like at all… but I do know that I have to list a couple of my favorite books according to specific categories (milk, tea, sugar, ice, silk socking, ying yang) so here goes nothing! Oh, and before I forget, I’d like to nominate Stuck in a Textbook, Books j’adore, If Books Could Blog, The Bookshelf of Emily J., and last but not least thehipsterchristian.

tea: the foundation of my reading

Well, this is an easy choice for me! Without a doubt in my mind, it would be the Magic Tree House series by Mary Pope Osborne. The many adventures of Jack and Annie truly turned my view of reading from a school chore, to a fun adventure. I remember being 8ish and reading through one of these in a day! They made me so happy and if a new one came out, I was sure to have it asap. I still get excited talking about them :P.

milk: a smooth, rich book

Okay, this is a seriously hard choice! After much consideration, (I’ve been stuck here for like 25 min… still can’t decide). Here we go again, after MUCH consideration… I’ve decided on Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. I mean what a moving story! You MUST read this book! It really is touching and it grabs the reader’s attention very easily.

sugar: a book I love but is controversial

Oh The Hunger Games… My love-hate relationship for this series is strong! It was a page turner and it spiked so many emotions in me, however, I still can’t say that I love them. The main character, Katniss, is very stubborn and can be so annoying sometimes! Of course, since the books are in her perspective, I am constantly annoyed while reading them. She doesn’t end up with the guy I prefer, two of my favorite characters die, Katniss makes around only two good decisions in the ENTIRE series, and my favorite character leaves with no sense of laud or appreciation (which he rightly deserved). I read these and enjoyed them, but with so much annoyance. I’m not sure if you understood that at all, but the I love this series and I absolutely hate it too! (I don’t know if I stayed on topic, but it’s controversial to me so I guess… maybe?…)

ice: a book just for fun

This category is so vague and I can list so many… but I can only choose one sooooo… I choose Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. This book is the definition of fun, in my opinion. It is so peculiar and different, yet incredibly clever and amusing! It therefore makes my top 5 favorite book list ;). I literally have Alice in Wonderland stuff all over my room, that’s how much I love it! If you want to have a jolly good time ;), READ THIS BOOK!

silk socking: a book that is much better than it sounds

This is super easy for me. The Circle Series by Ted Dekker definitely wins! I mean the books are simply, Black, Red, White, and Green… like how weird! But oh, how good they are! Although Green is a bit too weird for my taste XD, but still amazing. These books are so, so, sooooo confusing and most people don’t know where to start (it’s literally a circle so you can work backwards or forwards… cool right?). The plot is crazy and all over the place, so most people can’t get through it, but if you do and you understand what’s going on… OH IT’S JUST SO GOOD! Black is one of my favorite books ever so I can go on and on about it, and Ted Dekker is my favorite author :). Just forget everything you’ve ever thought a story should be and become extremely open minded, then, these books will take you on an unforgettable adventure! If you want to know more about this series, check out this blog post, it reviews these books exactly like I would!

ying yang: a book with foreign influence

I had a tough time with this topic, however, I’ve settled on Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. This book (along with the entire series) was written in German. It takes place mostly in Italy. Of course, it has now been translated and therefore, I was able to read it ;). What a book! If you’ve seen the movie, please don’t automatically think the book will be just as bad!! The movie DOES NOT do this book justice! But, in all honesty, movies never do. Anyways, this book is the definition of fantasy! It’s so fun and exciting, I could definitely read it again and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone.

Well, that ends my book tag :(. Hope you guys enjoyed it! Oh, and I’m going to DC (like I said in an earlier post) this Friday!! So excited–oh my gosh! I’ll post a lot…

Leave a Reply

