im not a senior…

Why, HELLO! It has been too too long…as usual. When was the last time I posted? 2 months ago? Okay, that’s NOT ok. I promise things will change! But before I start plunging into this blogging thing again, here’s a recap of my summer and an update on me.

If you can recall, I hated junior year. Thankfully, however, this summer almost-just almost-made up for the dreaded past school year. I had fun this summer. Period. end of conversation. I. Had. Fun. You know how normally at the end of summer you’re just like “I didn’t do anything…?” Well, this was not one of those summers for me. While a lot of great things happened to me this summer, the highlight has to be my trip to New Orleans. Let me be blunt here. I did not like New Orleans AT ALL. The city just wasn’t for me. Why was it the highlight then? I went to NOLA with my chorus to perform with 200 other kids from around the US. We got to perform in an amazing cathedral and received excellent training and musical experience. I grew even closer to the girls in my chorus. I made some amazing memories.

In addition to NOLA, this summer I was a mentor at a children’s choir camp and got to teach theory for two weeks-that was also a great experience. My aunt and cousin from Saudi came down (I had never met them so it was awesome). My great friend from Maryland visited. Lastly, and to me most importantly, I spent time with some awesome people. This summer I really got to enjoy some of my friends and grow closer to them. I think that’s something that can get lost amidst the hustle and bustle of the school year. Friendships are forever and it’s important to invest in them.

So there you go! My summer 2016.

And now for an update on me…

I’m a senior. Well, apparently I am. I don’t think it’s true, though. It’s impossible! How can I be a senior?! It feels like it was just yesterday when I entered high school. Most people get so excited for senior year. “It’s finally over!” they all say. Well, for me, I don’t want it to be over. As a homeschooler, I’ve made irreplaceable memories throughout school. All those hours of my mom reading to me as I sipped my coffee, those days when we would spend time just studying nature and enjoying the outdoors, the two hour deep convos we’d have on art and culture and history and theology, even the simple moments like when I walk around my house reading in my robe while eating cookies (all in the name of education, of course). This was-is-school for me. I don’t want it to end. But, that’s just how life goes. There are a couple different stages in life and I’m entering a new one. Yeah, it’s sad that my childhood (which was so great) is coming to an end, but I’m excited for what the future holds. BUT…IT’S NOT OVER YET! And, because it’s just the beginning of senior year, I’m going to hold onto my youth for dear life. And when I graduate, and only then, will I agree to shift into the new stage of my life. Thankfully, I learn from my many mistakes and am therefore only taking one AP this year :D. Boy will life be easier *and more enjoyable*. I’ll also have a lot more time to do things like blogging.

So, yeah, I guess I’m a senior. But I just have to make the most of it!

“See” you soon. I promise this blog won’t fade away.

XO,

Ashley-Anna

One comment

  1. mrminiike · August 24

    Senior year really isn’t that bad, or at least wasn’t for me. It’s hectic, but you get a lot more control and autonomy in the midst of that chaos, since a lot of the big decisions are now yours instead of your parents. It’s a bit of a frustrating limbo between hand-holding and full adulthood, but a necessary one.
    And hey, at least your not cowering in a basement apartment wasting your one hour of free time on the first day of orientation giving vague and unhelpful semi-advice on an obscure blog.

Leave a Reply

